CS4740 Schedule

Date Topic To read/watch before class Assignment Out Assignment Due(11:59pm)
Tues Feb 2 Introduction      
Thurs Feb 4 Introduction      
Tues Feb 9 Introduction to Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Cloud computing

Amazon Web Services

PA#1  
Thurs Feb 11 More on PA#1    
Tues Feb 16 Cloud storage, EULAs, and SLAs

Amazon's Storage and content delivery

Amazon's Database options

   
Thurs Feb 18 Cloud app design (e.g., scalability)

Scalability

Amdahl's law

TSP

  PA#1
Tues Feb 23 PaaS/Containers/Microservices

PaaS

OS-level virtualization

Docker

PA#2  
Thurs Feb 25 PaaS/Containers/Microservices  
Tues Mar 2 Inside datacenters (Comp Arch, OS, Xen)

Datacenters

Computer Architecture

x86

Virtualization

Xen

   
Thurs Mar 4 Datacenters case study: Facebook!

How Facebook keeps its large-scale infrastructure hardware up and running

Efficient, reliable cluster management at scale with Twine

  PA#2
Tues Mar 9 No class!!      
Thurs Mar 11 Serverless/lambda

Serverless

AWS Lambda (wikipedia)

AWS Lambda (AWS)

PA#3  
Tues Mar 16 Serverless/lambda
Thurs Mar 18 DevOps DevOps  
Tues Mar 23 Cloud security Review for Midterm

Computer Security

Cloud security

PA#3
Thurs Mar 25 Midterm exam  
Tues Mar 30 Intro to Big Data et. al

Big Data

MapReduce

Hadoop

Spark

PA#4  
Thurs Apr 1 More Big Data et al    
Tues Apr 6 Hive & Pig

Hive

Pig

HBase

Presto

 
Thurs Apr 8 Open Source Private Cloud and Hybrid Cloud

Private Cloud

OpenStack

  PA#4
Tues Apr 13 AI, GPU computing

AI

GPU computing

PA#5  
Thurs Apr 15 No class!!      
Tues Apr 20 ML, TensorFlow

Machine Learning

TensorFlow

 
Thurs Apr 22 Intro to noSQL NoSQL PA#5
Tues Apr 27 Cassandra, MongoDB, CouchDB

MongoDB

Cassandra

CouchDB

PA#6
Thurs Apr 29 Streaming data

Storm

AWS Kinesis

 
Tues May 4 IOT / Edge

IOT

Edge computing

AWS IOT

Thurs May 6 Next-gen Cloud, Course Wrap-up! PA#6
     
Sat May 8 10am -- noon
Final exam